.

.

Coco Cay is a small island of the Bahamas and an exclusive Royal Caribbean destination. It is a great place to have a BBQ, snorkel, and chill out at the beach.

Mom and I spent a day trip at Coco Cay. The island was full of colorful wooden buildings, sand, chairs/hammocks, and ocean. The weather was beautiful as well, somewhere between the high 70s to low 80s.

.

.

.

.

.

Without much hesitation, me and mom picked a spot on the beach because it got crowded quickly. We found a spot near the turquoise colored water. It was one of the first times I have seen it so blue and clear. I did a bit of snorkeling and sometimes saw a fish swim away.

.

Cruise 09 073

Cruise 09 112

.

.

I soon discovered another side of the beach, which seemed less crowded. So mom and I headed there and witnessed people riding wave boards in the water. So we went in, and quickly found out it was full of jellyfish! Worse, it was difficult to see these creatures with their translucent bodies. I maneuvered around them the best I could.

Then, a man out of nowhere came up to me. He told me that he could catch a living jellyfish. But not by net like Spongebob, rather with his hands! So he scooped one up, head first. I was shocked! He held it upside down right in front of me. The jellyfish didn´t sting him either.

.

.

Cruise 09 042

.

.

The man then encouraged me to pick one up. So I tried a few times, but each time a jellyfish slipped off my hand. I realized that I didn’t scoop quick enough. I kept trying, until it was time to leave.

By around 3, everyone was departing from the island. The whole beach smelled like vinegar, so apparently, a lot of people got stung. Even a poor child got stung because I heard him screaming and crying.

This experience made me ponder about the story in John 21 when Jesus and disciples went in the Sea of Galilee to fish. Simon Peter, one of the disciples, cast a net out to sea one night but caught nothing. Jesus stood there the next day and told Simon to cast the net on the right side of the boat to catch some fish. He cried, “It is the Lord!” as he caught 153 fish. He and the other disciples towed the net of fish onto the boat.

Eventually, I managed to hold a jellyfish with both hands after many attempts. It never moved nor slipped from my hands. I held it for probably a minute before releasing it. And amazingly, I never got stung. Now Simon Peter used a net to catch fish, but imagine trying to catch them with hands, let alone jellyfish! It’s truly miraculous what can be achieved with belief and faith.

.

.

image_2

Leave a Reply

